Hello from Samantha Brecht!

My name is Samantha Brecht, and I’m so thrilled to be on this adventure, with the fine ladies who sit behind me in the lightweight quad. I’m living my dreams right now. And I am so honored to represent the United States at the U23 World Championships!

I took my first strokes as a high-school freshman at Mount Saint Joseph Academy. In the magical boats of Mount Crew, I progressed from know-nothing novice to fierce competitor, became a two-time national champion lightweight eight, served as a team captain, came to crave the exhilaration of moving boats like a physical addiction, and entered into the tight-knit community some like to call the “rowing world.”

I attend the University of Wisconsin, where I study Biology and English. I am also an NCAA Division I student-athlete on the women’s varsity lightweight rowing team. I am immensely proud to be a Badger! My first year at Wisco was incredible, and I am so glad that I have at least two more years as an undergraduate at Wisco!! I transferred to Wisconsin after spending my freshman year at the University of Pittsburgh. I have spent my summers racing for elite rowing programs, in Philadelphia at Penn A.C. and Vesper B.C. before coming to GMS in New Milford, CT this summer.

When not studying for class or rowing in boats, I enjoy activities such as hiking, drawing, riding my purple bike, drawing, and reading books. Aside from physical activity, I also have a complementary passion for food. Though my dad is the former chef, both of my parents can cook really well, and I am grateful I was encouraged to develop my culinary skills and creativity from an early age. The challenge to create cuisine that is not only delicious but also nutritionally beneficial for an athlete is one that I accept with gusto. The website “foodgawker” is often one of the top visited sites on my computer, and I can spend hours pouring over recipes and food photography, seeking insight and inspiration. I love visits to farmers’ markets and coffee shops, locally-sourced ingredients, and chocolate!

2 thoughts on “Hello from Samantha Brecht!

Leave a comment