Hello from Sarah

Hello Everyone! I am so excited to have this wonderful opportunity to go to u23 Worlds – and such a great group of girls to experience it with! Camp thus far has been a very supportive environment to train hard in. We’ve all been improving at a rapid pace and will continue to do so as the World Championship approaches.

Our Quad at U23 Trials at Mercer Lake, New Jersey

A little bit about me: I am entering my final year at Northeastern University where I will be completing a dual degree in Cultural Anthropology and International Affairs with a minor in Middle Eastern Studies. This year I was co-captain of the Northeastern Women’s Rowing team and sat bow seat of the Varsity 8. This spring yielded good results for us, winning the CAA Conference Championship and getting a silver medal at Eastern Sprints. In addition to school and rowing, I was working part time at a non-profit research and consulting firm in Boston called Root Cause. I was also managing a cafe on Newbury Street called L’Aroma Cafe. If you’re ever in Boston feel free to check it out, a lot of Northeastern rowers work there!

As far as the lightweight portion of the rowing is considered, we’re all doing very well at camp. We all trade food favorites and are happy to take tips from each other which makes what can be a challenging experience into something very pleasant. We love egg time, quinoa, and my personal energizer: shotbloks!

Again, I just wanted to say thank you to my friends and family in the Buffalo community, from West Side Rowing Club, The Park School, Spot Coffee, and beyond and to my Northeastern huskies for all the support you’ve given to me! I wouldn’t have been able to do anything without you guys!

One thought on “Hello from Sarah

  1. Helluva race Sar. Nonno says he’s giving you all the power he’s got & Nonna says there’ll be gnocchi waiting for you when you get home.

    Love
    Dad xx

Leave a comment